The Latest From Mark Cherrington - Eighth Edition

I am dedicating this edition of my FREE newsletter to my upcoming fundraiser at the River Cree Resort on May 2nd.

To support my work, we're having a fundraising gala at River Cree on May 2nd. You can buy tickets now. There will be a silent auction, dinner, music, and dancing. It's a good time, and it helps support vulnerable people. I am only able to do this work because of your support. I really look forward to meeting you!

You may also purchase a table of tickets, or you can donate tickets that I can give to some of my great families. You get a tax receipt!!

This is my first Gala, and a critical component that allows me to continue doing what I do.

In our city, there are vulnerable people—too many people—fighting social justice systems that aren’t working for them: welfare, education, criminal justice, health care, and child welfare. They’ve fallen through the cracks, usually with nobody on their side, and no one in the system they can trust.

The needs are never-ending. One girl needs to go to the doctor, another needs a pregnancy test, and someone else needs a ride to Maskwacis to pick up a cheque. The demand for formula, diapers, food, and clothes seems insatiable.

I receive many phone calls and texts throughout the day and every day, and drive constantly through our city and beyond, picking people up and dropping them off.

Every day, the Coalition supports people at their most vulnerable, often in crisis. We work to provide them with dignity and respect by helping them access social justice services like Child Welfare support, shelter or housing, and basic living necessities like clothing, food, and personal care products. About 85% of my clients are females who face a greater risk of exploitation without help from people like me.

Let's be real: if the government was doing its job, there may not be as much of a need for what I do. To support my work, we're having a fundraising gala at River Cree on May 2nd. You can buy tickets now. There will be a silent auction, dinner, music, and dancing. It's a good time, and it helps support vulnerable people. I am only able to do this work because of your support.

Join us for an evening in support of the Coalition for Justice and Human Rights.

When: Thursday, May 2, 2024

Reception: 5:30 pm/Dinner 7:00 pm

Where: River Cree Resort, Enoch Ballroom

Dress Code:  Business Casual

What’s Included: Rapid Fire Theatre/Cocktails and Silent Auction/3-course Plated Dinner/Live Auction/Live Entertainment by F n Y  (Edmonton's Justice Band)

Tables of Eight:         $1,400

Individual Tickets:       $175